Science Humor

XKCD comic
XKCD webcomic. Used with permission.

4 thoughts on “Science Humor

  1. Very funny. I am impressed that you obtained permission to use that image too. Good for you!

    Unfortunately, I have known a couple of teachers who define hard work in maths the same way, i.e. really good students are those who plough through repetitive problems, just as a computer would. The fact some students don’t understand the whys and wherefores of what they are doing (or in some cases have a better way to do things) is unimportant to said teachers as long as students follow instructions obediently, over and over again.

    Time to encourage more understanding and questioning in schools, in my humble obedient (but inquisitive) opinion 😉

    Otherwise we can all look forward to being a nation of floorsweepers …

  2. Yes, it’s a bit esoteric, perhaps, but I couldn’t resist posting it. (Hint to readers: it refers to Kepler’s second law).

    I try to respect copyright and intellectual property; I try to ensure that any images I use are with permission. Wikipedia is a good source of images; many of its images are available for re-use provided one credits the creator. NASA (and other divisions of the federal government) provide works in the public domain. XKCD, as noted above, allows for republication of its images (in non-commercial media).

    For exceptional work, I may even contact the creator for permission. I did this for “Sun and Silhouette,” as well as for another astrophotograph which I’ll be featuring perhaps tomorrow, as the photographer kindly agreed to letting me post it.

  3. Most of my images are my own photographs or artwork by my kids 🙂

    Often I have contacted image copyright owners and they have been happy to permit use for non-commercial purposes. The only refusal I had was from a big publishing house when I wrote to ask if I could use a children’s poem online. It seems few people attempt to get permission in the first place 😦

    Do you know any good cartoon to show the Second Law of Thermodynamics? Esoteric is fine. I can draw a diagram, but I would like to find an amusing cartoon. My older son was explaining the Second Law of Thermodynamics to his younger brother yesterday on their way home from middle school, in relation to ice melting. Along the way, it occurred to me that an increase in entropy could best describe what happens in a teenager’s bedroom (an isolated system) to explain how, over time, everything spontaneously ends up at the same level (i.e. on the floor) …

  4. I agree; I am certain I am one of the few who requests permission.

    Huh…it was surprisingly hard for me to find comics on entropy. I’m sure there are some good ones out there, though.

    I did find two strips from the highly amusing Dinosaur Comics: this and this. I hope you can find something closer to what you are looking for.

Comments are closed.