A New Way to See the Embryonic Development of Animals

The Daily Mail posted an article today about an upcoming National Geographic special (I first read about it on Propjets and Writings, though it’s since appeared in several other blogs as well). Called In the Womb: Animals, it’s a follow-up to National Geographic’s previous feature on the embryonic development of humans. Using a combination of ultrasound, tiny cameras, and computer graphics, they show the development of a dog, an elephant, and a dolphin in utero.

However, as P. Z. Myers points out in Pharyngula, the images are too “pretty.” The membranes and such appear to be missing, and the uteruses look too spacious. Don’t get me wrong—I strongly support attempts to make science more appealing to the public, and sometimes one has to fill in the details—I’m a big fan of the BBC’s Walking With Dinosaurs series. I’m looking forward to seeing this (it airs on National Geographic on 10 December), but I hope they will make clear just what they could record and what they had to “fill in.”

If you’re interested in learning more, BBC and the Daily Mail both have picture galleries, and additional information and some video clips are available at the National Geographic site.

4 thoughts on “A New Way to See the Embryonic Development of Animals

  1. I like your posts but I’d advise you to narrow your blog’s subject. I’ve been advised the same way. Don’t you want to establish a blogroll? Anyway we could work together to make science more readable. 🙂 I marked you as friend’s blog. Keep up the good work.

  2. Thank you for the comments. Perhaps you are right: at this point, I am just starting out, so I don’t know the ultimate focus this blog will take. However, though medicine is my field of study, I am interested in science in general, and would like to discuss a variety of science topics, not just those relating to medicine. Thank you for the link! I have found your blog quite interesting as well and will certainly include you once I set up a blog roll; I share your goals of making science accessible.

  3. So we are on the same way. 🙂 You can see that how hard our job will be. The top blogs are absolutely not about science… We have to struggle to reach a good position among poems, feelings and photographs.

Comments are closed.